Knowledge, Experience, Discipline, Desire

I’m on a 4-day Yoga Therapy training in Indianapolis with Gary Kraftsow and am like a sponge – learning and experiencing the more esoteric (that which transcends the body) aspects of Yoga, as well as the nuts & bolts of asana for individual needs. Gary has been in the world of Yoga for 35 years and is a continual myth-buster as to what works and what doesn’t. I’ve done lots of trainings from different lineages and have noticed the abundance of conflicting information. It’s nice to study with someone who has a wealth of knowledge on the technical therapeutical applications of Yoga, as well as the spiritual.

I’m definitely drawn to the Yoga Therapy model as I see in my classes how different a pose needs to be in every one’s body, depending on their weaknesses, tight areas, and habitual patterns of movement and thinking. It’s why teaching a small group appeals to me. With a larger group all I can do is give a one-size-fits-all class, which has it’s benefits, but not when it comes to going more deeply into individual needs. Even a simple pose like Tadasana – mountain pose – needs different instruction for different bodies. For example, in this pose some people need to tuck their tailbones if they have lordosis, and others don’t.

As far as the other aspects of Yoga – calming & relaxing the body, focusing the mind, and connecting with the greater expanse of who we are… these are also very individual. Some people want more of the relaxing aspect as they’ve created a lifestyle that is on full-throttle. Others who are connected 24/7 to a small electronic device, want more of a focused mind. Still others who have perhaps had a life-altering experience are more interested in connecting with their spiritual self.

After a Yoga Therapy training, I’m always humbled by the expansive nature of Yoga and how to integrate it into a small group setting. For me to be effective, I devour as much knowledge as I can, practice regularly, & then when I step in to teach, use my intuition.

Today I’m feeling much gratitude to all my teachers for their wealth of knowledge & experience, continued discipline, and unwavering desire to share themselves with the world.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

